The Spanish Inquisition, Obscured by Myth

Great book for historical fiction fans 🙂

Jana Petken

My new novel, The Errant Flock, is purely fictional, and set against the backdrop of The Spanish Inquisition. I found the subject fascinating and disturbing, so much so, I was in danger of wanting to cram factual data into the story. I didn’t. Instead, I allowed the fiction to overshadow historical facts and figures, but at the same time I incorporated various situations for my characters, some, which I believe, could have taken place during this terrible period. Cover Idea7

During research I was astonished by how politically and financially motivated the Inquisition was. Every book and document I studied, I found evidence of a Spanish Monarchy using the Inquisition to change Spain’s racial and political landscape, secure revenues by confiscation of money, property, and personal possessions of prisoners, and abusing their power on a grand scale. I was also surprised to find that the Inquisition did bring certain order to towns that were blindly persecuting suspected heretics, Jews, Muslims, and converts, without…

View original post 507 more words

Leave a Reply

